Monday, August 22, 2011

Swamp Wallaby

Though the name might suggest that they are denizens of the swaps, Swap Wallabies also live in forests and upland areas of Eastern Australia. They are the only members of their genus, Wallabia.

Wallabia bicolor
Swamp Wallabies are nocturnal, solitary marsupials. They are mostly-browsing herbivores that eat a huge variety of plants, including grasses, shrubs, and bark.

They can live up to 15 years, and reach sexual maturity after only 15 months. Like all Marsupials, they give birth to very tiny, underdeveloped young. Swamp Wallabies have only one Joey at a time, which is born after a gestation period of about five weeks.  They remain in the pouch for eight or nine months, and will often remain with the mother until they themselves reach sexual maturity. Swamp Wallabies are unique in that their gestation period is longer than their estrus cycle.

Some farmers consider Swamp Wallabies to be threats, because they feed on crops. Hunting and habitat loss have have been issues for these Wallabies, but overall they remain very common.

IUCN Status : Least Concern
Location : Australia
Size : Length 30in (76cm)
Classification : Phylum : Chordata -- Class : Mammalia -- Infraclass : Marsupialia
Order : Diprotodontia -- Family : Macropodidae -- Genus : Wallabia -- Species : W. bicolor

1 comment:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...